Research Interests

Cognitive radio and spectrum shared access systems

Communication systems in high-frequency bands (millimeter wave and THz)

Distributed sensor networks, Internet of things

Diversity transceivers and multiple–input multiple–output (MIMO) systems

Energy harvesting, simultaneous wireless information and power transfer

Goal-oriented and semantic communications

Holograhic MIMO, metasurface-based antennas, extremely massive MIMO

Hybrid analog and digital multi-antenna transceiver design

In-band full duplex transceivers

Integrated/joint sensing and communications

Multi-functional reconfigurable intelligent surfaces, load-modulated antenna arrays

Localization, tracking, radio mapping, simultaneous localization and mapping

Machine learning and artificial intelligence for wireless communications

Multi-user multi-antenna techniques, interference management in dense networks

Performance analysis of wireless communication systems

Relaying protocols in cooperative communication systems

Time reversal techniques for large bandwidth communication

Wireless channel and transceiver hardware imperfections modeling and characterization


IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) Fred Ellersick Prize 2024 for the article: "Dynamic metasurface antennas for 6G extreme massive MIMO communications," IEEE Wireless Communications, vol. 28, no. 2, pp. 106–113, April 2021 co-authored with N. Shlezinger, M. F. Imani, Y. C. Eldar, and D. R. Smith.

IEEE ComSoc Leonard G. Abraham Prize 2024 for the article: "Multi-hop RIS-empowered terahertz communications: a DRL-based hybrid beamforming design," IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, vol. 39, no. 6, pp. 1663–1677, June 2021 co-authored with C. Huang, Z. Yang, K. Xiong, L. Wei, C. Yuen, Z. Zhang, and M. Debbah.

IEEE ComSoc Fred Ellersick Prize 2023 for the article: "Holographic MIMO surfaces for 6G wireless networks: Opportunities, challenges, and trends," IEEE Wireless Communications, vol. 27, no. 5, pp. 118–125, October 2020 co-authored with C. Huang, S. Hu, A. Zappone, C. Yuen, R. Zhang, M. Di Renzo, and M. Debbah.

Included in the World's Top 2% Scientists Lists for the career-long and 2021-year impact provided by Elsevier through the ICSR Lab using Scopus data; the list was published on 1 September 2022.

IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Lecturer for the classes of 2022-2024.

Best Paper Award for the Selected Areas in Communications Symposium of the IEEE Global Communications Conference (GLOBECOM) 2021 for the paper: "Direction-assisted beam management in full duplex millimeter wave massive MIMO systems," in Proc. IEEE GLOBECOM, Madrid, Spain, 7–11 December 2021, pp. 1–6 co-authored with M. A. Islam and B. Smida.

IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications 2021 for the article: "Reconfigurable intelligent surfaces for energy efficiency in wireless networks," IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, vol. 18, no. 8, pp. 4157–4170, August 2019 co-authored with C. Huang, A. Zappone, M. Debbah, and C. Yuen.

EURASIP Best Paper Award of the Journal on Wireless Communications and Networking 2021 for the article: "Smart radio environments empowered by AI reconfigurable meta-surfaces: An idea whose time has come," EURASIP Journal on Wireless Communications and Networking, 129, pp. 1–20, May 2019 co-authored with M. Di Renzo, M. Debbah, D.-T. Phan-Huy, A. Zappone, M.-S. Alouini, C. Yuen, V. Sciancalepore, J. Hoydis, H. Gacanin, J. de Rosny, A. Bounceu, G. Lerosey, and M. Fink.

IEEE ComSoc Best Young Professional in Industry Award 2018. In recognition of outstanding contributions to the industry in terms of innovative Communications Research and Development, especially in the area of emerging architectures. Given at IEEE Global Communications Conference, Abu Dhabi, UAE, 9-13 December 2018.

Organizational climate development individual award for teamwork, module reuse, and fast iteration from Huawei Technologies France, Paris Research Center, Mathematical and Algorithmic Sciences Lab, Boulogne-Billancourt 92100, France in November 2018.

Timely incentive award for designing a radio-frequency time reversal verification platform from Huawei Technologies France, Paris Research Center, Mathematical and Algorithmic Sciences Lab, Boulogne–Billancourt 92100, France in August 2018.

Exemplary Reviewer (top 3% of the reviewers) for the year 2012 for the journal IEEE Wireless Communications Letters.

Best Ph.D. thesis award by a Greek University in the fields of informatics and telecommunications from the Informatics and Telematics Institute, Thessaloniki, Greece in 2010.

Student travel grant for the IEEE Global Communications Conference (GLOBECOM), Miami, USA, 6–10 December 2010.

Scholar of the National Center for Scientific Research–"Demokritos," Institute of Informatics and Telecommunications, Wireless Communications Laboratory, Athens, Greece for Ph.D. dissertation from June 2006 till June 2010.

Top ranked in the M.A.Sc. program in Signal and Communications Processing Systems: Theory, Implementations and Applications, University of Patras.

Scholar of the Operational Program for Education and Initial Vocational Training II, Ministry of Education, Lifelong Learning, and Religious Affairs, Republic of Greece, for M.A.Sc. studies from October 2003 till April 2006.

Certificates of excellence and top–ranked student at Gymnasium and Unified Lyceum, Ministry of Education, Lifelong Learning, and Religious Affairs, Republic of Greece from 1992 till 1998.

Copyright 2006, G. C. Alexandropoulos, All rights reserved
Last update: May, 2024